When administrators create or edit events, they'll see the following options under the "Advanced Settings" section. The option to enable or disable waitlists will only show IF the event has a registration seat limit. By default, events with registration seat limits will allow users to join the waitlist for that particular event.
When an individual visits an event page for an event that has reached its seat limit, they will see a "Join Waitlist" button instead of a "Register" button.
Clicking "Join Waitlist" will add them to the waitlist and show them their waitlist position.
If a seat becomes available (e.g. if someone else un-registers or if the seat limit is expanded), individuals will be registered for the event based on their position on the waitlist. An email alert is automatically sent to notify them of this change.
Administrators can view the members of a waitlist on the event page, below the list of registrants.
To remove themselves from the waitlist, individuals can visit the event page, click on the green arrow next to the "You're on the Waitlist" button, and select "Leave Waitlist."
Additionally, individuals can see any future events where they've joined the waitlist by navigating to their My Log page.